Glitz, glamour at 8th AMVCA

It was all glitz and glamour at the eighth edition of the African Magic Viewers Choice Awards (AMVCA) which held at the Eko Hotel and Suites in Lagos on Saturday.

Arabella reports that popular On-Air Personality, Toke Makinwa; TV host, Ebuka Obi-Uchendu; TV personality, Uti Nwachukwu and Ghanian actress, Sika Osei, were on the red carpets talking to celebrities about their choice of outfits.

The AMVCA red carpet started with John Ugbe, the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of Multichoice reading his pre-recorded welcome speech and applauding African filmmakers for continually reinventing themselves while telling the African story.

The show was anchored by radio and television on-air personality. IK Osakioduwa, and the glamorous South African Bonang Matheba.

The show kicked off with Yemi Alade’s performance of Tambourine. Thereafter, Osakioduwa poked a joke at actor Deyemi Okanlanwon about the actor surviving during COVID-19, Okanlawon almost pulled a Will Smith slap on him jokingly.

The Best Supporting Actress in Drama or TV series male and female categories went to Omowunmi Dada, for her role in “Country Hard”, while Odunlade Adekola won for his role in “Jankariwo”.

Lagbaja and Rema mounted the stage and reminded the audience why a collaboration between the younger generation and older generation would always be a hit and experience mixed with energy.

“No do gra gra” and “konko below” classics were performed and had the audience swaying as the nostalgic feeling kept them on their feet. The audience gave a thunderous applause after the performance.

The awards for Best for Africa Magic Comedy TV series, Best Creator, went to Rogers Ofime,l. Tinsel’s cast and crew won a lifetime recognition award for successfully running the series for 15 consecutive years.

For Best Actress and Actor in Comedy, Funke Akindele-Bello won for her role in “Omoghetto The Saga”, while Samuel Perry popularly know as Broda Shagi won the Male category.

Awards for best actress in drama movie or tv series was won by Osas Ighodaro, for her role in Rattle Snake. Stan Nzeh won in the Male category also for Rattle Snake.

The organisers of the AMVCA took out time to celebrate entertainers who had passed away. They included are Karibi Fubara, Babatunde Omodina, Victor Olaotan, Sir Victor Nwaifo, Biglow, Sadiq Daba and Bolaji Rosiji, among others.

Best Talent Factory went to Daisy Masembe, while best dressed actor and actress at the AMVCA went to Denola Grey and Osas Ighodaro respectively. They went home with N500,000 each.

Trailblazers award went to a production assistant that grew into a producer, Teniola Aladese. The award was presented by Hollywood actress, Tasha Smith.

The Industry Merit Awards, an award given to deserving thespians in the movie industry, was presented to Taiwo Ajayi-Lycett, an octogenarian whose versatility cuts across stage performances and movies.

“I have led an incredible life and I am grateful for my journey and for those that are before me and those coming after me, God is great and I’m thankful,” Ajayi-Lycett said.

The award for the best Director went to Ramsey Nouah for his second attempt at directing in Rattle Snake.

Best Overall films went to Amina, a movie based on Queen Amina, the history of the first woman to rule the Zazzau Empire in the 16th century.

The event ended on an electrifying note with Dapo Oyebanjo, popularly known as D’banj, performing one of his hit tracks, “Ogbona feli feli”.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *