Abbas Emerges As The Speaker, 10th House of Representatives

The All Progressives Congress (APC) concensus candidate for the Speaker of the 10th House of Representatives, Tajuddeen Abbas (APC,Kaduna) has emerged as the next Speaker.

Abbas polled 353 votes to defeat the immediate past Deputy Speaker of the defunct 9th House, Ahmed Idris Wase (APC,Plateau) and Aminu Sani Jaji (APC,Zamfara) who got 3 votes each respectively.

Before the commencement of voting, Abbas was nominated by the immediate past House Leader, Alhassan Ado Doguwa and seconded by Nnolim Nnaji.

Tijjani Kayode Ismail nominated former Deputy Speaker,defunct 9th Assembly, Ahmed Idris Wase and his nomination was seconded by Mohammed Ari Abdulmumin.

Ahmed Yusuf Ibrahim Doro nominated Aminu Sani Jaji who was seconded by Mohammed Aminu Ibrahim.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *