CITAD Award 10 Journalists Mini Grant To Investigate Corruption At Grassroot Level

A total of 10 journalists would receive grants aimed for investigative reports and research on corruption at grassroots level.

The grants were provided by the Centre for Information Technology and Development (CITAD) with support from the MacArthur Foundation.

Executive Director of the Centre, Malam Yunusa Ya’u, who was represented by Buhari Abba, recalled that earlier in June, CITAD had called for proposals from journalists who attended a two day workshop in Bauchi State for the anti- corruption mini grant for investigative reporting and research.

At the end of the application process, a total number of 15 applicants expressed their interest in the grant.

After review by a team of judges, 10 journalists were selected for the grant based on the quality of proposals submitted.

Executive Director of CITAD Engineer Y Z Ya’u said, the Mini Grant with Support from Macarthur Foundation is an encouragement to journalists to investigate and report corrupt practices at the grassroots level through a competitive process as a way of holding public officials to account.

“CITAD for long being working with journalists to ensure transparency and accountability in the public sector and this particular Grant is unique looking at the nature of the participants who are mostly young people with passion to make change in the society.

“Investigating corrupt practices both in public and private establishments will improve the quality of life, especially in the vulnerable communities that don’t have the voice to fight the menace of the system.”

The winners are from different media organisations which includes:

1 – Auta Polycarp – News Agency of Nigeria (NAN).

2 – Ismail Auwal Garba – Sahelian Times.

3 – Edwin Philip – Breeze FM Lafia, Nasarawa.

4 – Anibe Idajili – TheCable.

5 – Hauwa Kabir Lawal – Daily Reality Newspaper, Plateau State.

6 – Abbakar Muhammad Usman – Daily Trust .

7 – Rabiu Musa – Hot Pen, Kano.

8 – Abdulhafiz Sultan – Jasawa Times, Plateau State.

9 – Muhammad Auwal Ibrahim – Wikki Times, Gombe State.

10 – Zaharaddeen S. Yakubu – Daily Trust, Kano State.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *